Fifty members and guests gathered at the Café Baci for the installation of new Officers and Directors.  Guests included SLP Faculty Advisors Marti Watson (SMS Builders Club) and Brie Shannon (Pine View Key Club).  It was a beautiful evening in Sarasota.
Gerard started the Ceremony with his usual enthusiasm and smile, welcoming everyone for coming.  We then had the invocation by Cheryl Stock, and the Pledge of Allegiance by Steve Stonecipher.  Matt Anderson then introduced the current and past Lt. Governors, past and present Club President, Key Club Officers, Aktion Club representatives, and the Key Club Lt. Governor.
Then we had dinner, we started with salad, then a choice of chicken, salmon, or eggplant ending with dessert.  No complaints were heard about the food.  After dinner and we all chatted with everyone at our table, the program started again with Mary Lynn installing the three new members, Katherine Johnson, Steve Stonecipher and myself (Joy Jones).  Mary Lynn did an excellent job and had everyone sing to us, “You’re in Kiwanis Now.”
Doug presented the Club Service Awards.  Marianna received the Board Member of the Year Award, Linda received the Kiwanian of the Year Award for her had work, energy and time she put into the Day of Hope, and I received the Outstanding New Member of the Year Award.  I was really surprised and thank you all again.
Carolyn, our new Lt. Governor, installed the new Officers and Directors for 2016.  The new Officers are:   Past President Doug Griffin, President Clark Lauren, Secretary Linda Prenosil and Treasurer Fred Scheerle.  The new Directors are:  Dan Lundy, John Ferrari, Mary Lynn Desjariais, Carmen Ramsey, Carolyn Jones Penn, Marianna Ehmke, and Peter Kiziu.  In the photo L-R:  Clark Lauren President, Doug Griffin Immediate Past President, Lt.Governor Carolyn Kofler, Treasurer Fred Scheerle, Secretary Linda Prenosil.  (Carolyn is holding a photo of FL District Governor Gary Frechette.)
President Clark then gave a great speech and then presented the Legion of Honor Awards.  There were five members that received the Award:  Mary Lynn Desjariais for 25 years of service, Bob Pretchner for 30 years of service, Brian Miller for 40 years of service, John Watson for 45 years of service and John Prince for 55 years of service.  Congratulations to all of you for all your years of service to the Kiwanis Club. 
After a great meeting and meal we were adjourned.  I will have to say it was a wonderful evening and a big thank you to all that put it together.